Contacts and Awards

Human Pangenome Reference Center

The Human Genome Reference Center at Washington University in St. Louis serves as the coordinating center. They maintain and update the reference sequence; support state-of-the-art reference representations; and educate and coordinate with the research community (including clinicians and basic research scientists).
NIH Project Number and Title: 5U41HG010972, THE WASHU-UCSC-EBI HUMAN GENOME REFERENCE CENTER

Dr. Ting Wang, PI and Co-Director of the Human Genome Reference Center – twang@wustl.edu and Lucinda Fulton, Administrative Contact – lfulton@wustl.edu – Washington University

Benedict Paten, Multi-PI, benedict@soe.ucsc.edu – University of California, Santa Cruz

Heng Li, Co-Investigator, hli@jimmy.harvard.edu – Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Paul Flicek, Multi-PI, flicek@ebi.ac.uk – EBI

Kerstin Howe, Investigator, kj2@sanger.ac.uk – Welcome Sanger Institute

Human Pangenome Sequencing Center

The High-Quality Human Reference Genomes Center at the University of California, Santa Cruz collects additional DNA samples from populations not represented in the current reference, including the creation of cell lines. They will generate at least 350 high-quality reference genome sequences, a subset of which will be finished, telomere-to-telomere genome sequences. The center also disseminates the data and works closely with the other Human Genome Reference Program components.

University of California, Santa Cruz

  • David Haussler, PI, Director of the High Quality Reference Genomes, haussler@ucsc.edu
  • Karen Miga, Co-Investigator, khmiga@soe.ucsc.edu
  • Mark Akeson, Co-Investigator, makeson@soe.ucsc.edu
  • Ed Green, Co-Investigator,, ed@soe.ucsc.edu
  • Benedict Paten, Co-Investigator, benedict@soe.ucsc.edu

Evan Eichler, Multi-PI, eee@gs.washington.edu – University of Washington

Ira Hall, Multi-PI, ihall@wustl.edu – Yale University, School of Medicine

Erich Jarvis, Co-Investigator, ejarvis@mail.rockefeller.edu – The Rockefeller University

Heng Li, Co-Investigator, hli@jimmy.harvard.edu – Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Eimear Kenny, Co-Investigator, eimear.kenny@mssm.edu – Icahn School of Medicine

Alissa Resch, Co-Investigator, aresch@coriell.org – Coriell Institute

Genome Reference Representations

The Genome Reference Representations (GRR) projects support research and development for a next-generation genome reference representation that can capture all human genome variation and support research on the full diversity of populations.

Heng Li, Contact PI, hli@jimmy.harvard.edu – Dana Farber Cancer Institute and Benedict Paten, Co-Investigator, benedict@soe.ucsc.edu – University of California, Santa Cruz
Grant Number and Title: 1U01HG010961, The Construction and Utility of Reference Pangenome Graphs.

Mark Chaisson, Contact PI, mchaisso@usc.edu – University of Southern California, Evan Eichler, eee@gs.washington.edu – University of Washington , and Tobias Marshall, tobias.marschall@hhu.de – Max Planck Institut fur Informatik
Grant Number and Title: 1U01HG010973, Representing Structural Haplotypes and Complex Genetic Variation in Pangenome Graphs.

Hanlee Ji, Contact PI, hanleeji@stanford.edu – Standford University and Tsachy Weissman, tsachy.weissman@gmail.com – Standford University.
Grant Number and Title: 1U01HG01963, K-mer Indexing for Pangenome Reference Annotation